Nurture, Learn, Grow

Early Years Ethos

The aspects of learning & development

There are 7 areas of learning and development which are divided into 3 prime and 4 specific areas; these aspects are covered in your child's learning journey these are linked to the characteristics of effective learning too.

Prime Areas pc.jpg

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Every Child matters

At St Osmund's Pre-School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)
framework which is based around these four themes:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environmentscostructing_2.jpg
  • Learning and Development

These in turn are linked to the Every Child Matters outcomes which are:

  • Being Healthy
  • Staying Safe
  • Enjoying & Achieving
  • Making a positive contribution
  • Economic well-being

By allowing children to learn through their play, listening and acting on children's needs and interests we are able to incorporate the EYFS curriculum into our daily routine.

At the beginning of each term parents/carers will receive an information and their child's development and how we can work together on their child's next steps. This information sharing gives an overview of the activities/topics we are hoping to cover based on individual needs and how you can help increase your child's knowledge at home.

Contact us

Carmelite Way off Exeter St, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP1 2SG